Gluten Free Diet
What is Gluten Free Diet?
Gluten free diet refers to food items without gluten. Major sources of gluten include grains like wheat, rye, barley and triticale. People suffering from celiac disease are particularly told to adopt a gluten free diet. Celiac disease is not completely curable however; a gluten free diet can somehow help the person manage this disease. The gluten free diet aids the body to absorb nutrients properly.
What To Take – Before switching to gluten free diet it is better to ask your dietician. Many natural and prepared foods are gluten free. In fact, many stores now offer gluten free food. However, checking the labels of packaged food for gluten free constituents is always advised. Here is a list of some natural and packaged foods that you may find gluten free.
- Vegetables and Fruits
- Meat products
- Unprocessed beans, nuts, and seeds
- Most dairy products
- Cereal and Baking Products
- Noodles and Pasta
Make sure to check the ‘gluten free’ label on food you are purchasing. It is mandatory for all packaged food manufacturers to enlist all ingredients on the package, bottle or box. Sometimes, manufacturers do not declare the presence of gluten in some products, thus avoiding a few food items is better. These include bread, cakes, chocolates, alcoholic drinks, biscuits, wafers, cereals, pasta, seasoned meats, sauces, processed snack foods, vegetables with sauce, French fries and vinaigrette. Some grains like oats get mixed with wheat during the production process, hence avoiding them is also recommended.
Drawbacks of Gluten Free Diet – Since people following gluten free diet have low intake of certain vitamins and nutrients, they may experience deficiency of certain important elements in their body. You must consult with your dietician to review your diet to make sure you are ingesting key nutrients your body needs.